author events

[title]
08/20/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Dennis McDougal presents and signs Bob Dylan: The Biograpghy

Bob Dylan is a music hero to generations. He's also an international bestselling artist, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author, and an Oscar winner for "Things Have Changed." His career is stronger and more influential than ever. How did this happen, given the road to oblivion he seemed to choose more than two decades ago?  Dylan's 72, and this final act of his career is more interesting than ever--yet the classic biographies like Bob Dylan: Behind the Shades (first published 1991, updated 2001) and even his own Chronicles: Volume One (published 2005) came too soon to cover this act.  Now this groundbreaking biography digs deep into Bob Dylan lore--including subjects Dylan himself left out of Chronicles: Volume One. Dylan: The Biography moves beyond analysis of lyrics or well-worn biographical facts to focus on why this beloved artist's American odyssey has touched so many souls--and how both Dylan and his audience have changed along the way. What happened during the past two decades to transform a heroin addict into one of the most astonishing literary and musical icons in American history?  Through extensive interviews and connections with Dylan's friends, family, sidemen, and fans, Los Angeles Times journalist Dennis McDougal builds a new understanding of Dylan, as well as the real story behind the myths. Was his romantic life, especially with Sara Dylan, much more complicated than it appears? Was his motorcycle accident a cover for drug rehab? What really happened to Dylan when his career fell apart, and how did he find his way back? To what does "he "attribute his astonishing success? McDougal's interviews and meticulous research offer a revealing new understanding of these older questions--and of the new chapter Dylan is writing in his life and career. (John Wiley & Sons)

ISBN: 9780470636237
Price: $35.00

Add To Cart

[title]
08/21/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Stevie D presents and signs The Trans Am Diaries

Stevie D. thought he had made it. After leaving his small-town Kentucky home for the bright lights of Hollywood, this self-described "white trash hillbilly" rose through the stand-up comedy ranks to become a star on the Sunset Strip. Since the release of his successful concert DVD, Rockstars of Comedy, Stevie began developing projects with rock legend Tommy Lee, UFC Champion Rich Franklin, Hot Rod Builder of the Year Troy Ladd and other celebrities. With a beautiful wife, he was also enjoying the greatest adventure of his life--fatherhood. Then, Stevie received the stunning news that his life might actually be nearing an end when he was diagnosed with prostate cancer at the young age of 42. A powerful story of survival, The Trans Am Diaries is a "stream of consciousness" direct from Stevie D.'s pen and is also full of laugh-out-loud stories about the entertainment industry and the colorful characters Stevie has met along the way. (Headline Books)

ISBN: 9780938467908
Price: $16.95

Add To Cart

[title]
08/23/2014 - 4:00 pm
Event Details:

Rachel De Woskin presents and signs Blind

When Emma Sasha Silver loses her eyesight in a nightmare accident, she must relearn everything from walking across the street to recognizing her own sisters to imagining colors. One of seven children, Emma used to be the invisible kid, but now it seems everyone is watching her. And just as she's about to start high school and try to recover her friendships and former life, one of her classmates is found dead in an apparent suicide. Fifteen and blind, Emma has to untangle what happened and why--in order to see for herself what makes life worth living.  Unflinching in its portrayal of Emma's darkest days, yet full of hope and humor, Rachel DeWoskin's brilliant Blind is one of those rare books that utterly absorbs the reader into the life and experience of another. (Viking)

ISBN: 9780670785223
Price: $17.99

Add To Cart

[title]
08/26/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Pat O'Brien presents and signs I'll Be Back Right After This: My Memoir

Pat O'Brien was a skinny South Dakota kid with long hair, a rock and roll band, divorced parents and an alcoholic father. In all the familiar ways, he was on the road to nowhere until a professor, who envisioned his future as the household name he would soon become, dramatically changed his life. From that day forward Pat's life took turns that were both spectacular and destructive: from the Huntley-Brinkley Report and afternoons at Bobby Kennedy's living room with Muhammad Ali to conversations with six Presidents. He did acid with Timothy Leary, drank with Mickey Mantle, and over the course of a remarkable career up close and personal with the Beatles, The Stones, The Kennedy's, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods and virtually every star in Hollywood. In I’ll Be Back Right After This, Pat reveals the highs and lows of the life of a radio and TV broadcaster, spent sharing the mic with the world's rich and famous while battling an infamous public scandal and demons that nearly killed him. With laughter, tears and miracles he reveals how he learned to accept his mistakes, find redemption and become the father he never had, proving there really are second and even third acts in life. (St. Martin’s Press)

ISBN: 9780312564377
Price: $26.99

Add To Cart

[title]
08/28/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Carla Harvey presents and signs Death & Other Dances

Autumn Franklin is an awkward, biracial girl growing up in a suburb of Detroit. Already disconnected from her peers at an early age because of her background, she becomes even more withdrawn when her young parents divorce. Ever changing but stubbornly tenacious, she survives the cards she's been dealt by playing them against the odds. Hurt her and she will not hesitate to "kill you off," making it easier to walk away.  Transplanting herself from her factory-driven hometown to the alluring City of Angels, she has but one goal: to find herself. Struggling to make solid connections with those around her, Autumn swallows her reservations and pushes limits to the extreme as she transitions between two drastic career changes: from the bowels of the adult entertainment industry to her rebirth as a mortician. There amongst the dead, she learns what it is to live, love, and to allow others inside, finally landing in the most comfortable place of all: her own skin.

ISBN: 9780996013703
Price: $25.00

Add To Cart

[title]
09/02/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Jeff Garlin's Reading Group discusses Lolita

The most controversial classic novel of the 20th century, Lolita tells the story of Humbert Humbert, a middle-aged man who is aroused to erotic desire only by a young girl.

ISBN: 9780679723165
Price: $15.95

Add To Cart

[title]
09/06/2014 - 5:00 pm
Event Details:

Leonard Maltin presents and signs Leonard Maltin's 2015 Movie Guide: The Modern Era

The definitive New York Times bestselling guide to the movies.  Now that Netflix and Hulu can deliver thousands of movies at the touch of a button, the only question is: What should I watch? For decades, Leonard Maltin has been America's most trusted film critic and whether readers are in the mood for a Hollywood hit or a little-known gem, his bestselling guide can help them make a satisfying choice. (Plume Books)
 

ISBN: 9780142181768
Price: $25.00

Add To Cart

[title]
09/07/2014 - 4:00 pm
Event Details:

Carly de Castro, Hedi Gores, & Hayden Slater present & sign Juice: Recipes for Juicing, Cleansing, and Living Well

A lushly illustrated and accessible guide to juicing and juice cleansing, featuring 75 recipes for making organic juices, milks, and other concoctions at home to provide the vital nutrients a healthy body needs to function at an optimal level.  Once considered a fringe practice of raw-food zealots, juicing has gone mainstream. In this beautiful full-color health guide and cookbook--which requires only a juicer or blender to use--the founders of Los Angeles-based Pressed Juicery explain how juicing and juice cleansing can be part of a fit and healthy lifestyle. Featuring seventy-five recipes for the shop's most popular juices--including greens, roots, citrus, fruits, aloe and chlorophyll waters, and signature beverages like Chocolate Almond and Coconut Mint Chip--this inspirational handbook outlines the benefits of juicing, explains how to do a juice cleanse safely, and shares testimonials from people who have experienced personal health transformations after integrating juice into their lives. (Ten Speed Press)

 

ISBN: 9781607746270
Price: $18.99

Add To Cart

[title]
09/08/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Peter Seth presents and signs What It Was Like

"It's really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They're right. I did some extremely foolish things; I'm the first to say it. And they've left me in jail and alone."
So begins one of the most compelling, emotionally charged, and affecting novels you are likely to read this year.  It is the summer of 1968 and a young man takes a job at a camp in upstate New York before starting his first semester at Columbia University. There, he meets Rachel Price, a fellow counselor who is as beautiful as she is haunted. Their romance will burn with a passion neither of them has ever known before...a passion with the power to destroy.   In the tradition of Endless Love and Gone Girl, What it was Like is an intimate, raw, and revealing journey through the landscape of all-consuming love. It announces the debut of a remarkable storyteller.  (Story Plant)

ISBN: 9781611881905
Price: $13.95

Add To Cart

[title]
09/09/2014 - 7:00 pm
Event Details:

Michaela Carter presents and signs Further Out Than You Thought

Combining the eloquence and raw sensuality of Jeanette Winterson with the romantic, renegade spirit of Patti Smith, Further Out Than You Thought is a taut and erotically charged literary debut, set against the chaos of the 1992 L.A. riots, about three people searching for identity and meaning from award-winning poet and indie bookshop co-founder Michaela Carter.

In the Neverland that is Los Angeles, where make-believe seems real, three dreamers find themselves on the verge of transformation. Twenty-five-year-old poet Gwendolyn Griffin works as a stripper to put herself through graduate school. Her perpetually stoned boyfriend Leo dresses in period costume to hawk his music downtown, and seems to be losing his already tenuous grip on reality. And their flamboyant best friend and neighbor, nightclub crooner Count Valiant, is slowly withering away.

When the city explodes in violence after the Rodney King verdict, the chaos becomes a catalyst for change. Valiant is invigorated, Leo plans a new stunt--walking into east L.A., naked, holding a white flag--and Gwen, discovering she is pregnant, is confronted by troubling questions. Can Leo become a good, dependable father? Can she leave the club life behind, or will the city's spell prove too seductive?

Combining poetry and sensuality with an edgy urban sensibility, Further Out Than You Thought is a celebration of life and a haunting story of love, friendship, and one woman's quest for redemption. (William Morrow & Co)

ISBN: 9780062292377
Price: $14.99

Add To Cart